Lunch!

yummy sandwich

yummy sandwich

Today’s lunch was inspired by a restaurant I went to in Wisconsin. I had a delicious melt at this restaurant, minus the cheese. It was good, but I figured I’d make it at home and perfect it, vegan style. This sandwich cost $7 at the aforementioned restaurant, but at home, this sandwich totaled around $2.
I hate reading recipes that sound great but are super expensive and really time consuming. Which is half of the reason I’m starting this blog. I love food, but I’m an American, which means I hate to wait. So I’ll post my makeshift, easy and delicious recipes which are usually inspired by pictures of food I see, conversations I have about food or the Vegan Jedi herself, Isa Chandra Moskowitz.
Anyway, Preston and I buy frozen bread dough, so I made a loaf. As soon as it came out of the oven, I squeezed an avocado on one side of the warm bread, cut up a red pepper, green pepper, yellow onion and an heirloom tomato and put that on the other piece. I put some spinach on the squishy avocado and then I smashed the two pieces of bread together and threw it in a frying pan (sprayed lightly with canola oil). Each side grilled for approximately 5 minutes, then voila!! It was juicy, salty and super delicious in every way!! There aren’t specific measurements for how much peppers or onions and avocado, you just have to cut as much as you want. Hope you love it as much as I did!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

One response

Leave a Reply

