fake bacon!

I know it’s been a while since a posted anything, I wanted to make sure whatever came next would be exhilarating and delicious! I chose fake bacon. Bacon is probably the meat I miss most. I love the smell, the crunch and the fact that is delicious on just about anything. It’s hard to perfect a fake bacon because the texture, crunch and flavors, but this recipe is one of my new favorites. Now before I launch into this I would like to ask for no judgment. I love sandwiches, so I would guess that 1/3 of my recipes will probably be different kinds of sandwiches.
Moving on, this recipe is from the cookbook “500 vegan recipes”. This cookbook is great and has so many fast and yummy recipes. The recipe is called “Seitan Bacon Crumbles”. Side note: Seitan and Vital Wheat Gluten are pretty much the same thing. Vital Wheat Gluten is a powder that makes Seitan. So you just mix together 1/2 cup of Vital Wheat Gluten, 2 Tbsp nutritional yeast, 1 tbsp maple syrup, 2 Tbsp soy sauce, 1 tsp. Liquid smoke, 1 tsp ketchup, 1 Tbsp peanut oil and 2 Tbsp water. Once you’ve mixed this, it will be the consistency of organic peanut butter when the oil is at the bottom of the jar. Fire up your pan with a light oil (I used canola) and once its hot, toss the little bites into the pan. Keep it on there as long as you want (I like mine a bit crunchy so I keep them in there for about 8 minutes). While the “bacon” is heating up, toast your bread, chop your veggies and pull out your tofutti cream cheese! I chose a multi grain bagel, tomato, spinach, red and green peppers and avocado. Put everything together and VOILA! One delicious, hot, bacon tasting beauty!
Vital wheat gluten is cheaper than buying fake meat that is already prepared, so you’re saving a few bucks there. I always try to buy food from farmer’s markets to save money and shop local. The only pricey item is the tofutti cream cheese and its about the same price as the real stuff. Either way, this sandwich is cheaper to make at home than going out and its full of yummy veggies and protein! I hope you like it!

Posted with WordPress for BlackBerry.

Leave a Reply

