Breakfast casserole

I know I haven’t posted in a while, sorry. I’ve been a little busy with work and haven’t been cooking a whole lot. But tonight I made something that I have been craving for a few days now.
I grew up in the Lutheran church which is known for two things: jello and casseroles. My favorite casserole growing up was a breakfast casserole with ham, eggs and lots of cheese. Being that I don’t eat any of those ingredients, coming up with a similar breakfast casserole was going to be a challenge. So I sat on the idea for a few days, really think about the flavored I wanted to replicate and the texture I wanted the casserole to have. I’m very pleased with the end result, and it took 30 minutes from prep time to eating time. I used a 9×11 casserole dish and lightly oiled the bottom. I used half of a bag of frozen hash browns as the first layer. Then I crumbled up half of a tube of breakfast flavored faux sausage. I used a tofu scramble mix and sautéed it with a pound of tofu and a fistful of nutritional yeast. While that was sautéing, I added a second layer of hash browns. When the tofu was done, I put that on top of the hash browns and the crumbled butter toast on top of that. I threw it in the oven at 350 degrees for 20 minutes and enjoyed it immediately! It was delicious and full of delicious breakfast flavors.

Leave a Reply

